18th Pragueshorts begins! Meet the jurors of the festival

On Wednesday 28 February, the 18th edition of the Pragueshorts Film Festival, an international short film festival organised under the auspices of the Karlovy Vary IFF, will begin. Over 80 of the best Czech and foreign short films of the past year will be screened until Sunday, 3 March, in Prague's Světozor, Bio Oko, Atlas and Kino Pilotů cinemas. On the same day, the online part of the festival will also start on KVIFF.TV. A selection of films from the Pragueshorts programme will be available for viewing until 17 March. 

The core of the festival programme consists of three competition sections: the National, the International and Labo, dedicated to experimental films. The visitors can also look forward to the popular live-moderated Brutal Relax Show, the opening ceremony with an exclusive screening of Pedro Almodóvar's Strange Way of Life, the Pragueshorts for Kids block and the special closing programme Long Night with Short Film. In addition, the audience can look forward to the Jiří Mádl in Shorts retrospective, which Jiří Mádl will personally present on Saturday 2 March at the Atlas cinema.  Industry programme for film professionals will take place on Friday and Saturday at the Světozor cinema. The complete list of winners of the 18th Pragueshorts Festival will be announced on the evening of Saturday 2 March. 

Eliška Křenková on the jury of the International Competition
The films in the competition sections of the Pragueshorts festival will be evaluated by a three-member jury. The jury of the International Competition, which will award one main prize with a financial reward of EUR 3,000 and two special mentions, will include actress Eliška Křenková, creative producer Barbora Mudrová and screenwriter and director Dylan Holmes Williams. The films in the National Competition will be judged by programmer Enrico Vannucci, editor Bartosz Pietras and filmmaker Izabela Plucinska. The jury of the National Competition will award the prize for the best Czech film, with a financial reward of EUR 2,000. The jury members of the Labo section are musician Monika Omerzu Midriaková, writer Petr Šesták and designer Ivana Kocmanová.